Gabriel Straub joins Geospatial Commission

Latest appointment to expert committee that advises government on UK location data and tech priorities. 

The Geospatial Commission is an expert committee providing impartial advice to the UK government. It aims to open up the significant economic, social and environmental opportunities offered by location data, applications and services and also to advance the UK’s global geospatial expertise. Its board of commissioners is appointed through an open competition.

Photograph of Gabriel Straub

Gabriel Straub, photo courtesy of Gov.UK

 Gabriel Straub, who joins as of September 1, 2023, has a wealth of valuable knowledge and experience. In 2020, he joined Ocado Technology as Chief Data Officer, with a brief to use data and machine learning for the benefit of the company’s retail partners and customers. Prior to this, he was Head of Data Science at the BBC, Data Director at and Head of Data Science at Tesco.  

Mr Straub is also a guest lecturer at the London Business School and an Honorary Senior Research Associate at UCL. He has a MA in mathematics from the University of Cambridge and an MBA from London Business School. 

Straub says: ‘I am excited to join the Geospatial Commission’s Board of Commissioners and look forward to helping continue their excellent work in harnessing the UK’s location data to drive higher productivity, promote economic growth and improve the delivery of public services.  

‘It has never been a more important time for organisations and individuals to understand the value of their data, and location data is something that permeates all areas of our lives. It presents an immense opportunity for innovation and unlocks answers to some of the thorniest challenges facing the UK economy.’ 

Sir Bernard Silverman, Chair of the Board of Commissioners, adds: ‘I welcome the appointment of Gabriel Straub to the Geospatial Commission’s Board of Commissioners. With an extensive career in data science and technology, Gabriel’s expertise will be crucial in helping us to deliver our UK Geospatial Strategy 2030 missions.’ 

The board, which meets formally up to six times per year, comprises nine members:  

  • Sir Bernard Silverman (Chair) 
  • Nigel Clifford (Deputy Chair) 
  • Thalia Baldwin (Director, Geospatial Commission) 
  • Professor Louise Heathwaite (Independent Commissioner) 
  • Alex Notay (Independent Commissioner) 
  • Steve Unger (Independent Commissioner) 
  • Gabriel Straub (Independent Commissioner) 
  • Stephen Lake (Chair, Ordnance Survey) and Peter Sparkes (Chief Executive, UK Hydrographic Office) are the two commissioners currently nominated by the partner bodies of the Geospatial Commission to represent them collectively on the Board

In related news:

Best sites for new EV chargepoints – using location data

UK to host international AI Safety Summit at Bletchley Park in November

Jaguar Land Rover recycles EV batteries to store grid power


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Help us break the news – share your information, opinion or analysis
Back to top